Blog

Debian Leader Says "One Year Will Do" https://www.itwire.com/open-source/debian-leader-hartman-says-one-year-at-the-helm-will-do-for-now.html Debian 8 Adds Longer Support https://raphaelhertzog.com/2020/03/11/keeping-debian-8-jessie-alive-for-longer-than-5-years/ Debian 11 Package Freeze Scheduled https://lists.debian.org/debian-devel-announce/2020/03/msg00002.html Gnome 3.36 "Gresik" https://help.gnome.org/misc/release-notes/3.36/ The Linux Foundation Open Sources Project OWL https://www.zdnet.com/article/linux-foundation-open-sources-disaster-relief-iot-firmware-project-owl/ FreeNAS and...

Let's Encrypt Moves Forward with the CAA Rechecking Bug https://community.letsencrypt.org/t/2020-02-29-caa-rechecking-bug/114591/2 Project Sandcastle runs Android on iPhone 7 https://www.xda-developers.com/install-android-10-apple-iphone-7-plus-project-sandcastle-checkra1n-jailbreak/ Glimpse 0.1.2 Is More than a Name Change https://glimpse-editor.org/posts/glimpse-0-1-2-release-notes/ systemd 245 Now...

The Structure and Administration of the GNU Project Announced https://www.gnu.org/gnu/gnu-structure.html CTO calls for patience after devs complain promised donations platform has stalled https://www.theregister.co.uk/2020/02/22/npm_funding_source/ Arch Linux Has a New...

Linux Foundation's Core Infrastructure Initiative Releases Census II Analysis https://www.zdnet.com/article/the-linux-foundation-identifies-the-most-important-open-source-software-components-and-their-problems/ Refreshed GTK Website Goes Live https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/gtk-website-redesign MX Linux 19.1 Now Available https://mxlinux.org/blog/mx-19-1-now-available/ MangoHud 0.2.0 Is Out https://www.gamingonlinux.com/articles/vulkan-overlay-layer-mangohud-continues-advancing-quickly-with-a-big-new-release.15994 Wine 5.2 Is Out https://www.winehq.org/announce/5.2 Mesa 20...

Being occupied with a family health issue, I completely forget to mention in this issue (FCM#156) that it marks our 13th year! Happy 13th birthday! This...

Ubuntu 18.04.4 Released with Updated Kernel 5.3 https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/ubuntu-18-04-4-lts-released Devs Push for Unicode 13 Support in Ubuntu 20.04 LTS https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/unicode-13-in-ubuntu-20-04 Perens Versus Open Source Security; Perens Wins in Court https://www.itwire.com/open-source/linux-kernel-patch-maker-says-court-case-was-only-way-out.html New...

EOL of CoreOS Linux https://coreos.com/os/eol/ Kernel 5.4 Marked as LTS https://9to5linux.com/linux-kernel-5-4-is-now-an-official-lts-release-supported-until-2022 Ubuntu 20.04 Will Ship with the 5.4 LTS Kernel https://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2020/02/ubuntu-20-04-kernel-5-4-lts Godot Engine Receives Epic MegaGrant https://godotengine.org/article/godot-engine-was-awarded-epic-megagrant Wine 5.1 Development Released https://www.winehq.org/announce/5.1 TLP 1.3...

Thunderbird Ownership Transferred to MZLA https://blog.thunderbird.net/2020/01/thunderbirds-new-home/ ND2H Wi-Fi Adapter Is Now FSF Certified https://www.fsf.org/news/libiquity-wi-fri-nd2h-wi-fi-card-now-fsf-certified-to-respect-your-freedom Nvidia Dropping Support for Older Graphics Drivers https://nvidia.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/3142/ Linux Mint Focuses on LMDE 4 and Cinnamon https://blog.linuxmint.com/?p=3858 Google...

This month: * Command & Conquer * How-To : Python, Ubuntu & Security, and Rawtherapee * Graphics : Inkscape * Graphics : Krita for Old Photos * Linux Loopback: nomadBSD *...

Kubuntu Focus Laptop to Ship in Early February https://www.zdnet.com/article/kubuntu-focus-a-new-top-of-the-line-linux-laptop-arrives/ ProtonVPN Open Sources All of Its Apps https://protonvpn.com/blog/open-source/ Wine 5.0 Released https://www.winehq.org/news/2020012101 Kernel 5.5 Released https://lkml.org/lkml/2020/1/26/232 FSF Wants to Upcycle Windows 7 https://www.fsf.org/windows/upcycle-windows-7 Gnu Make...

Mailing List

About

Full Circle is a free, independent, monthly PDF magazine dedicated to the Ubuntu family of Linux operating systems. Each month, it contains helpful how-to articles and reader submitted stories.

There is also the Full Circle Weekly News. A short weekly podcast giving just the news, no chit-chat, no banter, just FOSS/Ubuntu/Linux news.

DonorBox

Many people have asked for an alternative to Patreon. DonorBox is an alternative that allows Credit Card/PayPal single/recurring donations.

Patreon & Donations

All donations go to paying hosting fees and buying you folks some awesome competition prizes.